A JK-12 pluralistic school that engages students in an exemplary and inspiring general and Jewish education.

Class of 2020 Awards


Mazal Tov to the Class of 2020 on their Siyyum this morning and upcoming graduation on Sunday. Each year, a number of graduates are honored for excellence in a particular academic or co-curricular area, and/or for embodiment of a Jewish value.

Congratulations to:

For excellence in Visual Arts: Avigyle Heyman

For excellence in Performing Arts: Coby Siegel

For excellence in Jewish Text: Isaac Nadaner

Dorothy and Milton Gerwin Award given by the Gerwin family for excellence in English: Zachary Gross

Simon Hirshman Award given by Ruth Binn in memory of her father for excellence in History: Alexandra Knapp

Reb Yale Award given by the Holiber family for excellence in Jewish History: Zachary Morgenstern

The World Languages Award given by the Morgan family for excellence in World Languages: Micah Gritz

For excellence in Mathematics: Samuel Goldberg

For excellence in Hebrew: Micah Gritz

The Lubin Award for excellence in Science given by Brian, Melanie, and Russell Lubin for excellence in STEM: Isaac Nadaner

Marjorie and Lawrence Kravitz Keter Torah Award for excellence in all academic disciplines throughout high school and for a passion and love of learning for learning's sake: Jonah Abrams

Senior Athletic Achievement Award given by the Leish-Wandersman family: Ava Fradlin Ryan and Zachary Gross

Edith Chidakel and Charles M. Pascal Ahad Ha'am Award for a deep love and commitment to the State of Israel and its people given by Paula Levine: Joshua Siegel

Kedushah Award for fostering spirituality, in honor of Rabbi Reuvane Slater, given by Cindy and Rick Zitelman and family: Mia Pearce

Simon Hirshman Award endowed by our benefactor Charles E. Smith for commitment to community service: Hailey Weiss

Sherut L'Am Award given by the Mensh and Schlactus families, in honor of our Hagshama families, given for a deep love and commitment to improving the lives of others: Daniel Choderow

The William H. Davis School Leadership Award given by Marilyn Davis z˝l in memory of her husband for outstanding leadership and for serving as an outstanding role model: Hadara Bilsky and Zachary Gross

The Or Chadash Leadership Award given by Jocelyn and Danny Krifcher in honor of their children and all the future community leaders graduating from CESJDS: Maya Bellas

The Keter Shem Tov Award, the Crown of a good name, is given in honor of Roz Landy's parents, Ruth Siegel and Bernard Siegel, zichrono livracha, to a senior who possesses fine character and shows kindness and respect to others: Isaac Nadaner

The Aron Marom Sobel Award given by the Sobel family and the CESJDS community in memory of Aron, a 1987 graduate, who exemplified what CESJDS stands for: fine character, academic achievement, extracurricular involvement, and commitment to the community: Sabrina Bramson

The Hayim Orchim Award is given by the Krifcher family in honor of our CESJDS faculty who imbue our children with a love for Jewish values and the Jewish people. This award is given to the student who has shown a passion for the values of our school - specifically Torah L'shmah, Tikkun Olam, and K'dushah and proven her commitment by living those values espoused at CESJDS: Rebecca Weiss

The Frank E. Elster Awards for School Service

For The Lions Tale, the School Newspaper: Sabrina Bramson

For Dimensions, the School Yearbook: Alexandra Knapp

For The Melting Pot, the World Language Magazine: Sabrina Bramson and Micah Gritz

For Reflections, the Literary Magazine: Micah Gritz and Leah Simon

For Loa Ha'ari, the Hebrew Magazine: Ryan Bauman

Bohr Franklin Award: Russell Lubin and Isaac Nadaner

For Leadership in Senior Class Government: Maya Bellas and Hadara Bilsky

The Harry and Jessie Johnson Awards for School Service

For Math Team: Roy Ad and Isaac Nadaner

For Performing Arts: Maya Bellas, Dylan Fox, Davida Goldman, and Leah Simon

For Visual Arts: Sarit Luftman, Brenner Magill, Boaz Schwartz, and Yosef Sloane

For Audio Visual Technical Theater: Naomi Jaray and Brianna Loshin

For Mental Health Awareness Club: Mia Pearce

For Writing Center: Davida Goldman and Eleanor Pokras

For Mock Trial: Austin Kaminow and Zachary Morgenstern

For Athletic Training: Ray Ash and Tomer Masica

For Junior State of America: Matthew Wieseltier

For Model UN: Josie Levine

National Merit Semi-Finalists: Russell Lubin and Isaac Nadaner

National Merit Commended Students: Matthew Lawrenz, Zachary Morgenstern, Eleanor Pokras, and Matthew Wieseltier

Quill and Scroll: Ray Ash, Ryan Bauman, Sabrina Bramson, Micah Gritz, Naomi Jaray, Alexandra Knapp, Ethan Kulp, Brianna Loshin, Sarit Luftman, Amanda Miller, Isabelle May, Leah Simon, Josie Stein, Mattie Watson, and Molly Zatman

Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica: Maya Bellas, Hadara Bilsky, Sabrina Bramson, Ahava Freeman, Micah Gritz, Zachary Gross, Naomi Jaray, Matthew Lawrenz, Chloe Lerner, Brianna Loshin, Reilly Lowell, Russell Lubin, Amelia Rich, Joshua Siegel, Leah Simon, Benjamin Topol, and Rebecca Weiss

Arabic Honors Society: Ryan Bauman, Hadara Bilsky, Micah Gritz, Josie Levine, Ari Schlactus, and Matthew Wieseltier

More CESJDS News